Make your own free website on

The Girl Scout Religious Emblem program offers a partnership between the girl’s family, the family’s religious leaders, and Scouting, to explore age-appropriate faith issues, at the satisfactory conclusion of which the award is earned. To be age-appropriate, there are four separate Religious Emblem programs by grade level - for girls in Grades 1-3, then Grades 4-5, then Grades 6-8, and finally Grades 9-12. Since Troop 1806 is a multi-level troop serving only girls in Grades 1-5, the programs for Grades 1-3 and Grades 4-5 are relevant for our girls.

GSUSA does NOT promote or advance any particular faith. The Girl Scout promise contains this phrase: To serve God* and my country, with the * making clear that the word "God" can be interpreted in a number of ways, depending on one's spiritual beliefs. When reciting the Girl Scout Promise, it is okay to replace the word "God" with whatever word your spiritual beliefs dictate. There are approximately 40-50 different religious faiths and denominations which partner with GSUSA for the Religious Emblem program (see partial list below). Each faith or denomination partnering with GSUSA has developed a curriculum and workbooks for its own Religious Emblem Award, age-appropriate by the four grade levels referred to above. Girl Scouts who complete their faith’s Religious Emblem program, for each grade level in which earned, receive a Religious Emblem medal and patch, both of which can be worn proudly on the Scout uniform. The choice of working on the Religious Emblem Award is completely optional with the Girl Scout.

The Religious Awards program is designed to be worked upon as a joint effort between the Scout, her family, and her family’s religious leaders. For more information on the Religious Emblem program, try the P.R.A.Y website

Troop 1806 girls who earn a Religious Emblem for their faith will have two different award presentations. The girl’s own religious organization/church will make the main presentation of a medal and/or certificate for the girl. The girl can also elect to have the medal and/or certificate presented at a Scout Sunday observance. At the next monthly troop meeting after earning the emblem. Troop 1806 will present to the girl a P.R.A.Y. patch, as well as the “religious knot” used by our brothers in the Cub Scouts. Both the patch and the “knot” can be put on the uniform, along with the medal that may be awarded by the girl’s religious organization/church.

To Serve God Brochure (shows all the different medals, faiths and partnerships)

Faith Groups Partnering with GSUSA for Religious Emblems:

African Methodist Episcopal (A.M.E.)
Christian Church (Disciples of Christ)
Christian Methodist Episcopal (C.M.E.)
Christian Science
Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
Churches of Christ
Community of Christ
Eastern Orthodox
Polish National Catholic Church
Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.)
Presbyterian Church in America (PCA)
Protestant and Independent Christian Churches
Religious Society of Friends (Quakers)
Roman Catholic Church
Unitarian Universalist
United Church of Christ
United Methodist
United Pentecostal Church International
Unity Church